googlef1e6e0b76039ea95.html

WELCOME TO THE BLOG! With over 140 interviews logged to date, I love nothing more than getting the chance to talk to authors about their books, the writing process, what they've learned navigating the publishing journey, and even picking their brains on craft-related topics (such as how to write distinct POVs and world-building tips). They've taught me so much! I hope you enjoy reading through these amazing interviews as much as I've enjoyed putting them together.

Author Spotlight: Akemi Dawn Bowman talks Starfish

​​ I'm beyond thrilled to welcome author, Akemi Dawn Bowman, to the blog today! Her debut novel, Starfish, was released this week and it's already been named A Junior Library Guild Selection, one of Bustle’s New YA Novels from First Time Authors You Need to Read in the Second Half of 2017, one of B&N Teen Blog’s Most Anticipated Debut Novels of the Second Half of 2017, and Paste Magazine's 10 of the Best New Young Adult Books In September 2017! And check out what Publisher's Weekly had to say in a starred review: "In an empowering novel that will speak to many mixed-race teens, debut author Bowman has created a cast of realistically complex and conflicted characters. . . . Through art, Kiko

Author Spotlight: Margaret Rogerson talks An Enchantment of Ravens

​​ Today I'm so happy to host author Margaret Rogerson on the blog! Her debut novel, An Enchantment of Ravens, was released yesterday. In addition to its ravishing cover, this hot fantasy has been racking up tons of praise, including this quote from the School Library Journal: "Rogerson ably builds this fantasy world through canny details and contemporary dialogue, allowing for an enjoyable read by fantasy and non-fantasy readers alike." Enchantment of Ravens has been called an ideal pick for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, Laini Taylor, and Neil Gaiman. Hi, Margaret! Welcome and congrats on your debut. Can you tell us a little about An Enchantment of Ravens and what i

Author Spotlight: McKelle George talks Speak Easy, Speak Love

​​ Today I have author McKelle George on the blog! Her debut novel, Speak Easy, Speak Love, was released yesterday and it's been racking up praise, including this BEST BLURB EVER from Mackenzi Lee (author of New York Times–bestselling The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue) who wrote: “Speak Easy Speak Love is a book nerd’s dream. With the vivid hedonism of the 1920s, a cast of exquisitely drawn characters (with snappy chemistry and sexual tension that makes you want to smash their faces together), and wit to rival Will himself, a loving, fresh, and unputdownable homage to the original romantic comedy.” In addition to writing, McKelle works as a reference librarian at the Salt Lake City Pu

Get Raving for #BookRave in September!

​​ It's almost time for the September #BookRave and we are so excited to be featuring Sharon Huss Roat's HOW TO DISAPPEAR, alongside Leigh Bardugo's NYT Bestseller WONDER WOMAN: WARBRINGER! Read on to check out the changes coming to #BookRave this month, and see who's already raving about our September authors! sharing is caring! For this month's entry, we're going to ask you to share the cover of a book you recently read and loved on Twitter. Tag the author & #BookRave, and every time someone RT's your tweet, you get an extra entry into the drawing! That's right! Sharing is caring! So ask your friends to share your #BookRave tweets and share theirs in return. The more you spread the word ab

Accountability + Your Writing Goal = #ChanceChallenge

While the calendar still says summer, fall is in the air. It's been crisp here in Northern Virginia and this time of year always makes me want to hunker down and write (preferably with a hot cup of coffee and a few autumn candles burning on my desk!). I have a couple of projects I'm working on right now that I'm really excited about, and I'm even more excited to tackle them during #ChanceChallenge! For those who may be unaware, #ChanceChallenge kicks off today. It's a NaNoWriMo-esque writing challenge started by YA author, Kim Chance (who also happens to be my writer wife and #CPlove! ), and the great thing about this challenge is that it allows you to create your own writing goal. It doesn'

Author Spotlight: Kellye Garrett talks Hollywood Homicide

​​ Today I'm thrilled to be hosting Kellye Garrett on the blog! Kellye spent 8 years working in Hollywood, including a stint writing for the CBS drama Cold Case, and her debut novel, Hollywood Homicide, was a Library Journal Debut of the Month. Hollywood Homicide has been racking up praise since it's release in August and was even described as a “winning first novel and series launch” in a starred review by Publishers Weekly. Hi, Kellye! Congrats on the release of your debut. Can you tell us a little about Hollywood Homicide and what inspired it? Sure. Hollywood Homicide is the first in the Detective by Day series, which introduces a semi-famous, mega-broke black actress who takes on the dea

Coming to the Blog in September!

In addition to another exciting #BookRave giveaway (running from Sept 18-22), the lineup for September features Q&A's with four AMAZING debut authors. Scroll down for links to check out their books and be sure to see this month's upcoming posts for giveaway information, writing tips, and more! To learn more about specific titles, click on the links below and add them to your Goodreads list now! Wednesday, September 6 — Kellye Garrett and HOLLYWOOD HOMICIDE Wednesday, September 20 — McKelle George and SPEAK EASY, SPEAK LOVE Wednesday, September 27 — Margaret Rogerson and AN ENCHANTMENT OF RAVENS Friday, September 29 — Akemi Dawn Bowman and STARFISH ​​ ​

© 2017 by Megan LaCroix. Proudly created with Wix.com